Skip links

20 years INFF

A breath of fresh air: For its 20th anniversary, Katja Trippel, experienced science- and environmental journalist, will be taking over as curator. Already active as part of the INFF jury and long-time GEO editor and member of the Editorial Board in charge of the “GEO Reportage” for the French-German TV channel arte, Festival director and founder, Tyrol’s environmental ombudsman Johannes Kostenzer, is delighted over the addition to the team as well as Ms Trippel’s much valued expertise.

Five categories and nine awards: Environmental Documentary, Nature Film, Short Film, Animated Short Film and Young Talents. From these, four Special Awards will additionally be presented: The prestigious Special Award for Best Film on the Topic of Soil, the Cinematography Award personally selected by Oscar-nominated Austrian filmmaker Christian Berger and finally, two new awards, namely the Wild Women Award, celebrating female directors and cinematographers in the environmental and wildlife categories, and the Respect Our Planet Award for a film that inspires respectful treatment of planet Earth through new ideas.

Image: ©Lanzanasto